unnatural but worth it


This time last year I had been training for about a month in preparation for the Race for the Cure, which takes place here every January. Well, for better or worse, I registered to run in the race again this year. The difference is I’ve been training for only a few days. Now, running comes as naturally to me as dancing does to dogs, which is to say not very naturally. Some people sprint along and make the sport look beautiful and effortless; I, on the other hand, am clunky and leaden, and am happy I can run 3.3 miles in 30 minutes. Finishing before the men begin their race is my only goal; I met this goal last year and am hoping to meet it again this year. It’s a modest goal, but one I find satisfying. I did think twice about registering, considering I haven’t been running, but it’s a good cause. And it’s on my mother’s birthday–she’s a breast cancer survivor. Besides, I have 11 days to get in reasonable running shape. I think I can pull it together.

Leave a Reply

