driftwood

I feel unmoored these days. I have major projects to work on: a collection of thesis essays and finding a full-time job. Yet I Can. Not. Focus. I’m experiencing nearly debilitating bouts of wanderlust, but I leave for Texas and Mexico soon, so perhaps that will satisfy the lust for a while. The idea of a full-time office job makes me want to gouge my eyes. Ideally, I’d like a job that is partly in the office and partly working hands-on out in the world. I went to lunch last week with with my boss and one of the center’s field researchers. The field researcher told me I could go out with him and the others to the Everglades to help them/observe them do their work, so I’m looking forward to taking advantage of this offer. As I mentioned in the last post, I’m studying Buddhism more seriously than I have in a long time. I find it helps me when I’m feeling lost. I’ve been reading a lot of Brevity magazine because I’m thinking of taking my thesis in the direction of short essays. We’ll see how that goes.

The Beatles always cheer me.
“Some kind of solitude is measured out in you. You think you know me, but you haven’t got a clue.”

Leave a Reply

