Hooray for Hitch!

A few weeks ago I wrote a post lamenting Christopher Hitchens’ dislike/disdain for Obama. What I was more perplexed about then was the apparent “pass” he gave to Sarah Palin. I mean, I consider Hitchens to be a brilliant intellect and writer, and his unwillingness to attack Palin’s obvious lack of credentials for the role of VP astounded me. When I mentioned it to a friend, she said, “I think he’s out to tow the Republican party line.” What a depressing thought. I know he’s labeled a neocon, but my impression is that he writes his own opinions about the Iraq war, religion, the Middle East, regardless of what those around him think. To think he’d become a full-fledged Republican shill was terrible.

But today is a new day.

The title of this week’s Slate column is this: Vote for Obama

I nearly did cartwheels. I’ve never been so gleeful while reading a Hitchens’ column.

Leave a Reply

