In gulps

I just finished a splendid book called The Madman and the Professor. It’s about the making of the Oxford English Dictionary, and two people, in particular, who were involved.  It took seventy years for the dictionary to come to completion, and the people who gave the most time to it didn’t even get to see it in its finished form. Really remarkable. The book is an entertaining read; I checked it out of the library yesterday and finished it today. I’m about to go to bed now, but if I get an opportunity this week, I’ll post on it some more. There were some subjects and facts I wanted to write about. However, tomorrow I’m back to 10-hour days, so who knows whether I’ll be in the mood to blog when I get home from work.

I did enjoy having five days off in a row, though (the perk of working 10-hour days).

Leave a Reply

