On and on

Today I gorged on Reece’s Pieces. I did this instead of running for 4 miles in my brand new running shoes. I’m training for a 1/2 marathon, you know. But today it was windy and cool, and I knew I’d much prefer to eat Reece’s than to run against the wind. The bike ride home from work felt like I was moving in slow motion, and left me breathing a little harder than I’d like to admit.

I’m pretty sad about the news regarding my mother . The cancer on her spleen was ovarian, and the doctors caught it early, which is great, but she’ll still have to take chemo. This will be her third round with chemotherapy in eight years, and one has to wonder how much of this shit the body can take. Already she has constant numbness in her feet from past treatments. The treatment she’ll take this time is the same she took for the original ovarian cancer diagnosis. It worked well–kept her cancer free for almost five years, but it unleashes hell on her joints. The doctor prescribes it though, so she’ll suffer through. If anyone can absorb such bodily harm with grace and dignity, it is she.  Her ability to handle life amazes me.

And I’m down about the economic scene. I’ve applied and applied and applied to jobs with no luck. I try to be thankful for what I have, but I can’t help but feel that my life is slipping by, and I need to act now.

So, today I gorged on Reece’s Pieces, walked the dog, watched the sunset, and thought about finiteness. (I would have preferred to say, “thought about finity,” but it turns out that finity is not a word. I think it should be.)

One thought on “On and on

  1. I wish I knew what to say about your Mom, except that my thoughts are with you both. With the economic situation, that’s what it is; not your inability to get a job in a desirable field. In other words, if times were good, you’d have that job already, and remember that other recent graduates are in the same situation, so you’re not behind. Plus, one thing I’ve learned is that even the best job is not your real life. Your real life is with your family and people who care about you, and the good things you do for yourself.

    I like the word, “finity,” too.

Leave a Reply

