Mellowness

Now that I have a little more time to myself, I’ve been reading, cooking, and writing a little more (I also spend far too much time on Facebook, and I do need to put an end to this). I just finished the book Olive Kitteridge and enjoyed it a great deal. It’s the kind of book that I would take with me to bed to read for a little while before going to sleep, but every time I reached my designated stopping point, I would think to myself, No–I’ll read just a little more, until  an hour has passed and I can barely keep my eyes open. It’s a very interesting book.   I’m also working on an essay that should be really fun and offbeat because the subject matter is fun and offbeat, but as I’m writing it, the piece seems heavy and predictable…not at all what I’m trying to get across. I hope to find the remedy to this soon. It’s making me a little bananas.  And I’ve been cooking! Tonight I made a potato and mushroom bake. Over the past week I’ve made guacamole, vegetarian chili, and black bean and potato soup.  And, I have a certain experimental fiction piece awaiting my commentary. That is next on my list.

3 thoughts on “Mellowness

  1. It’s super easy–just waxy potatoes (par boiled), mushrooms (I used portabellas), heavy cream, rosemary, chives, garlic, and salt. Yummy stuff! I can send you the recipe!

Leave a Reply

