Half-baked

I discovered Ben & Jerry’s Half-Baked ice cream last week. Oh, my. It is the greatest concoction on the face of the earth. Vanilla ice cream, chocolate ice cream, cookie dough, and brownie chunks. I ignored it for so long because I assumed it had some sort of nut/fruit weirdness swirled into it. I am not a nut + fruit + ice cream type of chick, and Ben & Jerry’s has a lot of nut + fruit flavors. When indulging in ice cream, I was faced with choosing between chocolate with brownie chunks or vanilla with cookie dough. Now I know better. I can have the best of both worlds. It was all I could do to keep myself from getting into the car this afternoon and driving to the store to buy another pint of this stuff. I mean I had to talk myself out of it:

Another pint won’t kill me. But it’s 280 calories for 1/2 a cup, and there are 2 cups in the pint. But I don’t have to eat it all at once. But then I’ll be snacking on it for days. But I’ll live only once. Why not indulge in some ice cream? But I’ve already indulged in chocolate-covered graham crackers today. And I know I’ll be pissed when I weigh myself in the morning and I see a difference I can attribute to Ben & Jerry. But I’ll go to the gym to cancel the calories. But what if I don’t feel like going to the gym after I eat the ice cream? Then I’ll feel worse. Plus, I don’t feel like changing out of my pajama pants.

Then I remembered I had sugar-free pudding pops in the freezer. Hooray!

2 thoughts on “Half-baked

  1. Now I feel like a bad friend–I could have clued you in to Half Baked years ago, if only I had known you were a fellow “hate deciding between brownie chunks and cookie dough” kind of gal. Such a brilliant concept. I haven’t done the pint at a time thing since undergrad, but it was worth every calorie at the time.

  2. It’s probably a good thing I didn’t know about it sooner! I’m thoroughly addicted. I noticed the store where I usually make my ice cream runs doesn’t carry this flavor, which is probably why it escaped my detection for so long.

Leave a Reply

